BWF World Tour and Super Series Tournaments

The BWF World Tour is a Grade 2 badminton tournament series, sanctioned by the Badminton World Federation (BWF). It is a badminton competition open to the top world-ranked players in singles (men’s and women’s) and doubles (men’s, women’s, and mixed). 

The competition was announced in 2017 and came into effect starting in 2018, replacing the BWF Super Series, which was held from 2007 to 2017. From 2018 to 2026 the main title sponsor is HSBC (banking corporation).

The BWF World Tour is divided into six levels, namely World Tour Finals, Super 1000, Super 750, Super 500, and Super 300 in order (part of the HSBC World Tour). The BWF Tour Super 100 level is not part of the BWF World Tour.

See the calendar of World Tour tournaments here

Players seeded in the top 32 of the BWF World Ranking are guaranteed entry to all of these tournaments.

BWF World Tour tournaments
HSBC BWF World Tour logos for Super 300, 500, 75, and Super 1000

BWF World Tour Super 1000 tournaments

The following tournaments are classified as Super 1000 tournaments. The prize money for each of these tournaments must be at least 1,250,000 USD.

Winners of men’s and women’s singles, each take home a minimum of USD 87,500 (GBP 72.700) (EUR 82.000). Single players who are knocked out in the first round take home USD 1,250.

The prize money distribution for the Super 1000 and Super 750 tournaments is as follows

RoundMen’s singlesWomen’s singlesMen’s doublesWomen’s doublesMixed doubles
Last 160.3%0.3%0.325%0.325%0.325%
Last 320.1%0.1%0.1%0.1%0.1%
Distribution of prize money for Super Series 1000 and Super Series 750 tournaments

BWF World Tour Super 750 tournaments

In the year 2023, the six Super 750 tournaments will be held in the countries mentioned below. Only the top 32 players are guaranteed entrance. The prize money is set at USD 850,000 following the same prize money distribution as for Super 1000.

  • Denmark Open
  • French Open
  • China Masters
  • Japan Open
  • India Open
  • Singapore Open

BWF World Tour Super 500 tournaments

For the Super 500 tournaments, 4 players (or pairs) get an opportunity to qualify for the main tournament. The prize money for Super 500 tournaments is a minimum of USD 420,000.
The prize money distribution for the Super 500 tournaments is similar to Super 300, and Super 100 tournaments (see table below).

In 2023 The BWF World Tour Super 500 tournaments will take place in these countries:

  • Hong Kong Open
  • Indonesia Masters (downgraded from Super 750 as of 2023)
  • Korea Open
  • Malaysia Masters
  • Thailand Open
  • Finland Open (new)
  • Japan Masters (new)
  • Australian Open (upgraded from Super 300 as of 2023)
  • Canada Open (upgraded from Super 100 as of 2023)

The prize money distribution for the Super 500, 300, and 100 tournaments is as follows

RoundMen’s singlesWomen’s singlesMen’s doublesWomen’s doublesMixed doubles
Last 160.35%0.35%0.375%0.375%0.375%

Why BWF would choose to differentiate the money distribution percentage is a mystery.

BWF World Tour Super Series 300 tournaments

The Super Series 300 is the final BWF World Tour category. The prize money is a minimum of USD 210,000 following the same money distribution scheme as for the Super Series 500 and Super Series 100 tournaments.

A total of 8 players or pairs get an opportunity to qualify for the main event through the qualification tournament. In 2023 there will be 11 Super Series 300 tournaments around the world. They are:

  • Taipei Open
  • German Open
  • Hylo Open (Germany)
  • Korea Masters
  • New Zealand Open
  • Spain Masters
  • Swiss Open
  • Syed Modi International (India)
  • Thailand Masters
  • U.S. Open
  • OrlĂ©ans Masters (France) (upgraded from Super Series 100)

The best-performing countries at World Super Series tournaments

Between 2018 and 2022, the 10 top-performing countries for male badminton players are listed in this table. It should be noted, however, that Chinese players were largely absent at international tournaments in 2020 and 2022.

1 Japan37316161095
2 China2533512892
3 Indonesia2019661364
4 South Korea1118461049
5 Chinese Taipei12125534
6 Denmark8575631
7 Thailand4855830
8 Malaysia8412722
9 India32712
10 Hong Kong23128
Top 10 best-performing BWF World Tour Super Series countries

It is also worth noting that all countries except one are from Asia.

Between 2018 and 2022, the 10 top-performing countries for female badminton players are listed here. Although Chinese players did not win any tournaments in 2020 and 2021, they are still well ahead of Indonesia in second place.

China – 25 titles
Indonesia – 16 titles
Japan – 16 titles

India – 12 titles
South Korea – 10.5 titles
England – 9 titles
Bulgaria – 7 titles
Denmark – 7 titles
Chinese Taipei – 5 titles
France – 5 titles
Malaysia – 5 titles
Thailand – 5 titles

On the ladies’ side, Europe is better represented compared to the men’s side.

Increased number of tournaments in 2023

The number of BWF World tour tournaments increased in 2023. But that is not to say that the top badminton players are a mandated to participate in all tournaments.

The BWF rules for participation say that

  • The top 15 singles players ad top 10 doubles pairs in the world ranking are required to participate in all Super 1000, all Super 750, and 4 out of 7 Super 500 tournaments
  • Players who fail to play will get a fine of USD 5000 per event
  • A medical exemption is possible